Garden City Wings Ice Hockey Club

Varsity 2009-10
Back   Return to Wings Home Page  
 


Back Row: Asst. Capt. Tom White, Chris Arena, Beau Lardner, Captain Pat Donahue, Steven Lanciotti, Sam Bartels, Elias Georgas, John Wein, P.J. Volz
Front Row: Tom Martis, Matthew Cotter, Albert Markopoulos, David Wax, Rob Tomao, Billy Tranfaglia, Billy Barbaro
Missing From Photo: Spiros Markopoulos, Asst. Capt. Tim Moynihan
Coaching Staff: Brian Johnston, Frank Kiernan, Richard Peck, Tom White

Game Results
Fri 11/6/09 9:45pm at Long Beach - Wings 9 vs. Bellmore/Merrick B 4  GC News November 13,2009
Fri 11/13/09 9:45pm at Long Beach - Wings 5 vs. Manhasset/Roslyn 4
Wed 11/18/09 9:00pm at Bethpage - Wings 4 vs. Syosset 8
Mon 11/23/09 9:30pm at Cantiague - Wings 0 vs. Levittown 7
Mon 11/30/09 7:50pm at Newbridge - Wings 5 vs. Oceanside 7
Mon 12/14/09 7:50pm at Newbridge - Wings 5 vs. Oceanside 4
Wed 12/16/09 6:15pm at Bethpage - Wings 3 vs. Syosset 2
Fri 12/18/09 9:45pm at Long Beach - Wings 8 vs. Manhasset/Roslyn 3   GC News December 25,2009
Mon 12/21/09 9:30pm at Cantiague - Wings 2 vs. Levittown 4
Mon 1/4/10 7:50pm at Newbridge - Wings 3 vs. Oceanside 8
Fri 1/8/10 9:15pm at Bethpage - Wings 5 vs. Syosset 3
Mon 1/11/10 9:30pm at Cantiague - Wings 3 vs. Levittown 6
Fri 1/15/10 9:45pm at Long Beach - Wings 3 vs. Manhasset/Roslyn 2  GC News January 22,2010
Sun 1/17/10 9:30pm at Iceworks - Wings 2 vs. Levittown 2
Mon 1/18/10 9:30pm at Cantiague - Wings 1 vs. Levittown 2   Game Pictures
Fri 1/22/10 9:45pm at Long Beach - Wings 8 vs. Manhasset/Roslyn 6 nbsp; GC News January 29,2010
Thu 1/28/10 9:45pm at Bethpage - Wings 7 vs. Bethpage 1
Mon 2/1/10 7:50pm at Newbridge - Wings 8 vs. Oceanside 4
Fri 2/5/10 9:15pm at Bethpage - Wings 2 vs. Syosset 4
Fri 2/12/10 9:15pm at Bethpage - Wings 3 vs. Syosset 5  Patch.com February 13,2010
Varsity Liberty Division Semi-Finals
Sun 2/21/10 6:30pm at Long Beach - Wings 2 vs. Manhasset/Roslyn 1 (2OT)  Patch.com February 23,2010
Varsity Liberty Division Finals
Tue 2/23/10 9:15pm at Bethpage - Wings 2 vs. Levittown 1   Patch.com February 24,2010  NassauNewLive.com February 24,2010
Sun 2/28/10 9:15pm at Bethpage - Wings 3 vs. Levittown 8   Patch.com March 1,2010  
Tue 3/2/10 9:15pm at Bethpage - Wings 1 vs. Levittown 2   Patch.com March 3,2010  

2009-10 Statistics
Grade Player Position GP G A Pts PIM +/-
9
Chris Arena F 5 3 1 4 0 -3
10
William Barbaro F 19 3 2 5 6 -16
11
Sam Bartels D 18 1 2 3 6 -13
10
Matthew Cotter F 18 1 1 2 2 -8
12
Pat Donahue F 13 13 11 24 8 +10
10
Elias Georges D 13 5 12 17 6 +9
12
Steven Lanciotti F 19 5 6 11 12 -13
12
Beau Lardner F/D 18 4 12 16 30 +5
10
Albert Markopoulos F 19 21 21 42 10 +16
12
Spiros Markopoulos F 12 17 16 33 17 +15
11
Thomas Martis F 11 0 0 0 2 -2
12
Tim Moynihan D 19 7 15 22 32 +2
10
Rob Tomao D 17 0 4 5 0 +5
9
William Tranfaglia F 19 1 2 3 0 -5
19
Phillip Volz D/F 20 3 1 4 0 -8
10
John Wein F 17 0 0 0 0 -15
12
Tom White D 13 2 3 5 20 -4
Bench 4
Goaltenders GP W L T GA GAA
11
David Wax 19 9 9 1 84 4.42
10
Matthew Cotter 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
2009-10 Season Awards
  Defensive MVP Award: Tim Moynihan
  Offensive MVP Award: Albert Markopoulos
  Playoff MVP Award: Spiros Markopoulos
  Overall MVP Award: David Wax
  Rookie of The Year Award: Phillip Volz
  Coaches Award: Beau Lardner & William Barbaro
  Sportsmanship Award: Tom White
  Off Ice Award: Matthew Cotter

Garden City Wings Varsity Hockey Players Selected To Play At Coliseum

Pictured from L-R: Coach Brian Johnston, Spiros Markopoulos, Patrick Donahue,
Coach Rich Peck, missing Coach Frank Kiernan.
Two players from the Garden City Wings Varsity team have been selected, after three days of try-outs, to play on the Nassau County High School All-Star Team. Wings Captain Patrick Donahue and teammate Spiros Markopoulos will play on the Nassau County Team vs. Suffolk County in the Lighthouse Cup Game, formerly known as the Vytra Cup. The game will take place at the Nassau Coliseum on Monday, January 18th at 9:30 a.m. In addition to playing for the Wings, both young men play travel hockey as well, Patrick for ‘Apple Core Jr. CHA, and Spiros for the Royals Jr. B. We wish them luck. Go Nassau County!

Back   Return to Wings Home Page  

1