Your Browser has JavaScript turned off.
You will experience a more enjoyable time at this website if you turn JavaScript on.

Garden City Wings Ice Hockey Club


Directory
Middle School Team
Varsity Team

Freshman/MS Archives
Varsity Archives

Rink Directions
Wings Mailing List
Contact Information

Other Hockey Sites


1973-74 Wings

Upcoming Dates:
All practices are held at Port Washington

Please check back in late August for 2017-18 schedules


For more information and to register for the upcoming seasons please click on the appropriate program:
   Middle School
   Varsity
Please make sure to include in the email the name of the interested player, parent names, address, phone numbers, email address and current grade level.


2016-17 Game Results:
Friday 10/21/16 Wings MS 6 vs. Manhasset 2
Saturday 10/22/16 Wings MS 7 vs. Massapequa 3
Friday 10/28/16 Wings MS 7 vs. Plainview 4
Saturday 10/29/16 Wings MS 7 vs. Locust Valley 1
Wednesday 11/2/16 Wings Varsity 0 vs. Plainedge 8
Saturday 11/5/16 Wings MS 6 vs. Bethpage 4
Monday 11/7/16 Wings Varsity 0 vs. Levittown6
Saturday 11/12/16 Wings MS 10 vs. Farmingdale 4
Sunday 11/13/16 Wings Varsity 2 vs. Syosset 11
Friday 11/18/16 Wings MS 6 vs. Sewanhaka 5
Saturday 11/19/16 Wings MS 7 vs. Manhasset 5
Sunday 11/27/16 Wings Varsity 2 vs. Valley Stream 6
Saturday 12/3/16 Wings MS 12 vs. Massapequa 2
Sunday 12/4/16 Wings Varsity 2 vs. Friends Academy 6
Saturday 12/10/16 Wings MS 17 vs. Plainview 2
Tuesday 12/13/16 Wings Varsity 4 vs. Lynbrook 3
Sunday 12/18/16 Wings Varsity 1 vs. RVC-Malverne 8
Tuesday 12/20/16 Wings Varsity 2 vs. Plainedge 9
Saturday 1/7/17 Wings MS 8 vs Locust Valley 6
Tuesday 1/10/17 Wings Varsity 1 vs Syosset 12
Wednesday 1/11/17 Wings Varsity 1 vs Levittown 14
Sunday 1/22/17 Wings Varsity 2 vs Valley Stream 4
Tuesday 1/24/17 Wings Varsity 3 vs Friends Academy 7
Saturday 1/28/17 Wings Varsity 2 vs RVC 2
Sunday 1/29/17 Wings MS 4 vs Valley Stream 1
Tuesday 2/7/17 Wings Varsity 4 vs Lynbrook 2
Friday 2/10/17 Wings MS 5 vs Sewanahka 7
Sunday 2/26/17 Wings MS 8 vs. Lynbrook 1
Monday 2/27/17 Wings MS 5 vs Bethpage 6
Sunday 3/5/17 Wings MS 7 vs. Bellmore/Merrick Maroon 4
Tuesday 3/7/17 Wings MS 12 vs. Port Washington 1

Please direct all other general inquiries regarding the Wings program via email: Wings Info Mailbox.

This past fall the Wings participated in their 41st season in the Nassau County High School Hockey League. The organization plays in both the Middle School (6th-8th grades) and Varsity (9th-12th grades) divisions. See archives for more details.




Wings History...
     The Wings Hockey Club was founded in 1973.  It began through the efforts and dedication of Bill Newlin-Wagner who, with the assistance of Ward Doerschuck and Peter Gall, fielded a team in the Nassau H.S. Hockey league during the 1973-74 season.

     In the Certificate of Incorporation, the purpose for the formation of the team was "to teach and develop skills in the sport of ice hockey among the youth of Garden City High School and generally encourage amateur hockey in the community."  Over the years the team has more than lived up to these goals, having competed very successfully in the league.  More importantly it has developed the spirit of teamwork and success in many of the players that have passed through the program.  Bill Newlin-Wagner put it best in addressing the team in its early history.  He said "the essence of teamwork is character, friendship, unselfishness, excellence in skating, stick handling, and tactics. My modest attempts at teaching you were, and always will be, not only how to win but also how to bear it when you lose."

     Over the years the organization has been funded primarily from the parents of the players.  In addition, we had enjoyed the generosity of The Men's Association of the Garden City High School.  Without their encouragement and support we would have great difficulty in running our program and we thank them for all their help.

     The club currently participates in both the Middle School and Varsity divisions of the High School Hockey League of Nassau County, Inc.   The league comprises club and fully sanctioned school teaMS .  Games are played at ice rinks located in Nassau County.   The program is open to all players in the 6th through 12th grades who live in the Garden City school district.


Click on the links on the left for more information on our program.

We welcome any questions, comments or suggestions about our program or this web site.